I am going to Praise Him Through the Good and the Bad

While listening to the numerous weather reports of ice, snow, rain and the extreme weather conditions we are experiencing across the nation; it occurred to me to be exceedingly grateful.  Wait.  I know your first thoughts are, “what in this weather is there to be thankful for?”  I am so glad you asked.IMG_3157

As I look out at the gray skies, I am thankful that we have a God who knows what is best for us.   We may not see the purpose in icy roads and freezing rain; but we do know that “to everything there is a purpose”.   God is a God of purpose.  So this spring when everything begins to bloom just the way it is supposed to, when the bugs don’t destroy all the crops and we do not have to worry about pestilence and famine, be sure to thank God for the storms that destroyed the chance of pestilence and prepared the ground to sustain us.  Thank him that he continues to remind us that we must give “thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;Ephesians 5:20.  

So as you grab your coat, rush out the door, jump in your car, hurry to your job and arrive safely.  Don’t forget to thank him for the coat, the car, the job and your safety.

I am so grateful that I am learning to trust him in all things, learning like the apostle Paul, “both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: everywhere and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.” Philippians 4:12KJV I am learning to be grateful.

I cannot as a true witness of his grace, only praise him when things are going my way, when things are good.   I must be reminded, as Job reminded his wife when she spoke foolishly, “What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil?” Job 2:10 (KJV)

I am forever grateful that God knows what is best for me.  I do not have to make the hard decisions because he takes care of them all.

Prayer:

Father: I will praise you at all times.  For you are O so worthy!

2 thoughts on “I am going to Praise Him Through the Good and the Bad

Leave a Reply

