Stay Awake …Don’t miss the harvest!

Havest-Time-copy

I recently had a “Shame On You Moment’. The local television station reported on a “program whisch was approved by state lawmakers in 2008” that would have a potentially devastating effect on our youth and their future success. I had to shake my head and wonder when I buried my head so deep in the sand and became so apathetic that I stopped noticing what was actually taking place around me.
When did I lose sight of goals, dreams and visions? When did I drop out? When did become so conditioned to business as usual? It was Thomas Jefferson that said Experience has shown that even under the best forms of government those entrusted with power have, in time, and by slow operations, perverted it into tyranny.” It is by this” slow operation” that we have allowed government to control every aspect of our lives. We have allowed it to lull us into a sense of wellbeing. It seem apparent that as long as we are not directly impacted it is of little consequence. So we continue to sleep walk through life. As I have become older and “settled” into my roles of Wife, Mother and Grandmother I find that I have become lulled into a place of contentment. I heard myself saying to someone a couple of days ago that “the things I used to think were so important just aren’t really that important”. I find I have settled into a passive role as an individual. Scary, huh? This was not always the case, so now I find myself wondering just when it was that I became a “watch from the bleacher’s” kind of girl. To quote C.S. Lewis, in The Pilgrim’s Regress “You all know,” said the Guide, “that security is mortals’ greatest enemy.” Once we feel secure in our lives and endeavors all else becomes less important. It is then that the enemy becomes all the more powerful as we slip into a lethargic, listless and indifferent lifestyle. It is this very false sense of security that the disciples no doubt felt as the momentum was building and “the time was at hand”…the most significant event in their lives and the future of Christians everywhere was taking place right there in their midst! The one that was sent to redeem humanity, the only one that could ensure our salvation, was about to make the ultimate sacrifice and there they sat…Sleeping.
Mark 14:37King James Version (KJV)37 And he cometh, and findeth them sleeping, and saith unto Peter, Simon, sleepest thou? couldest not thou watch one hour?
It is time and past time that we work while it is day for night cometh when no man can work. It is time that we say as Jesus said, “Time to be about my father’s business”. There is much work to be done. The fields are white with the harvest and thou they harvest is plentiful the labors are few.
Take the time to rest but not at the expense of the well-being of your soul. After the work has been done after the purpose has been fulfilled, after the assignment is complete, after all has been said and done, And he cometh the third time, and saith unto them, Sleep on now, and take your rest: it is enough, the hour is come; When that hour has come and all that has been assigned is complete, in that hour Matthew 25:23 His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

3 thoughts on “Stay Awake …Don’t miss the harvest!

  1. I agree Min. Lisa, I believe we each may have experienced what we felt was a moment of “sleep” and when we awake we have missed a missed a great harvest…thanks so much for this potent reminder!

Leave a Reply

