More Love..

I was recently brought to the place of studying the scripture regarding loving ones enemies.  I never gave this much in depth thought. Yes I had heard it said yes I had read it many times.  It wasn’t that I did not think this was an important directional from our Savior, I just did not think I had much need to apply it to my own life.  It is not because I am so naïve as to believe do not have enemies or that there those that for whatever reason do not have my best interest at heart; it is just not one of those things that I dwell on.  Yes, I have people in my life that have been unkind, people that have hurt me deeply and those that have for whatever reason disliked me. Yet after examining my heart and conscious and trusting the Holy Spirit to reveal all things if I found I had not done anything to deserve that treatment I have been able to move on.  In those cases where I have been at fault I have trusted the Holy Spirit to convict my heart so that I could go to that person and ask forgiveness of any wrong doing. As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith. Galatians 6:10  But shame on me I never thought of it in the terms of loving my enemies.  That means I need to actively show love to those that despitefully use me. 44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; Matthew 5:44

 Did I often wonder what deep hurt, what deep unhealed pain underlies another persons’ need to unjustly and unfairly lash out and hurt others without justification?  Yes.  Have I at one time or another done this?  Absolutely.  It in the scriptures we find answers and it in the scriptures that mysteries are revealed.  The word of God to Saul gives us insight as God called out to Saul. Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?  In these words we can hear the heart of God as he inquiries of Saul.    In Act 9 we see that Saul went to great lengths to cause harm to the people of God.   He made it his mission and goal to come against any and all disciples that he came in contact with, “And Saul, yet breathing out threatenings and slaughter against the disciples of the Lord, went unto the high priest,2 And desired of him letters to Damascus to the synagogues, that if he found any of this way, whether they were men or women, he might bring them bound unto Jerusalem.  Saul was so serious in his mission that he went so far as to get it in writing.  These were not people he knew or even people that had done him any harm.  

I find it fascinating that in order for Saul to receive sight he had to be blinded.  In his blindness he was able to see himself as he was and finally receive sight.   In his darkness he “hath seen in a vision a man named Ananias coming in, and putting his hand on him, that he might receive his sight.” Acts 9:12

It is in this story that I realize that not all have arrived at the place of spiritual sight.  Like Ananias we must hear the voice of the Holy Spirit and not allow others pain to impede our progress.  In due time all shall come to know, Who art thou, Lord? And the Lord said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest: it is hard for thee to kick against the pricks. Acts 9:5

 

Father we thank you that it is by your Amazing Grace that although we were once blind now we see. Help us to be truly obedient to your will as we learn to Love our enemies, bless them that curse us, do good to them that hate us, and pray for them which despitefully use us, and persecute us for you have commanded it to be so.

4 thoughts on “More Love..

Leave a Reply

